The MIKE programme operates in some 60 sites in 30 range states of the African elephant and in 27 sites in 13 range states of the Asian elephant. Click on the site name links below the map for details on individual sites, or use the MIKE Sites  menu on the left to navigate to specific site pages.

List of current MIKE sites


Central Africa

  • Cameroon

Boumba Bek National Park (MIKES focal site)

Waza National Park

  • Central African Republic

Bangassou Classified Forest

Dzanga-Sangha Protected Area (MIKES focal site)

Sangba Pilot Zone

  • Chad

Zakouma National Park

  • Congo

Nouabalé Ndoki National Park

Odzala-Kokoua National Park

  • Democratic Republic of the Congo

Garamba National Park (World Heritage Site)

Kahuzi Biega National Park

Okapi Wildlife Reserve

Salonga National Park

Virunga National Park

  • Gabon

Lopé National Park

Minkébé National Park

Southern Africa

  • Botswana

Chobe National Park

  • Malawi

Kasungu National Park

  • Mozambique

Cabora Bassa (Magoe South District)

Limpopo National Park (voluntary site)

Niassa Game Reserve (MIKES focal site)

  • Namibia

Etosha National Park

Zambezi MIKE Site

  • South Afirca

Kruger National Park

  • Zambia

South Luangwa National Park

  • Zimbabwe

Chewore Safari Area (MIKES focal site)

Nyaminyami district (communal lands)

Eastern Africa

  • Eritrea

Gash Setit MIKE site

  • Ethiopia

Babille Elephant Sanctuary

Kafta Sheraro National Park

  • Kenya

Meru National Park

Mount Elgon National Park

Samburu-Laikipia MIKE Site

Tsavo Conservation Area

  • Rwanda

Akagera National Park

  • United Republic of Tanzania

Katavi National Park and Rukwa Game Reserve

Mkomazi National Park

Ruaha National Park and Rungwa Game Reserve

Selous and Mikumi National Parks

Tarangire and Manyara National Parks

  • Uganda

Murchison Falls National Park

Queen Elizabeth Protected Area (MIKES focal site)

Mount Elgon National Park

West Africa

  • Benin

Pendjari Biosphere Reserve (part of MIKES focal site)

Park W du Bénin (part of MIKES focal site)

  • Burkina Faso

Nazinga Game Ranch

Parc National W du Burkina (part of MIKES focal site)

  • Côte d'Ivoire

Comoé National Park

Marahoué National Park

Taï National Park

  • Ghana

Kakum National Park

Mole National Park

  • Guinea

Ziama Classified Forest

  • Liberia

Sapo National Park

  • Mali

Gourma MIKE site

  • Niger

Parc W du Niger (part of MIKES focal site)

  • Nigeria

Yankari National Park

  • Senegal

Niokolo-Koba National Park

  • Togo

Fazao Malfakassa National Park



South Asia

  • Bangladesh

Chunati Wildlife Sanctuary

  • Bhutan

Samtse Forest Division

  • India

Chirang-Ripu Elephant Reserve

Deomali Elephant Reserve

Dihing Patkai Elephant Reserve

Garo Hills Elephant Reserve

Eastern Dooars Elephant Reserve

Mayurbhanj Elephant Reserve

Shivalik Elephant Reserve

Mysore Elephant Reserve

Nilgiri Elephant Reserve

Wayanad Elephant Reserve

  • Nepal

Shuklaphanta Wildlife Reserve

  • Sri Lanka

Wilpattu National Park

Southeast Asia

  • Cambodia

Cardamom Forest Protection Area

Mondulkiri Protected Forest

  • People's Republic of China

Xishuangbanna Nature Reserve

  • Indonesia

Bukit Barisan Selatan National Park

Way Kambas National Park

  • Lao People's Democratic Republic

Nakai Nam Theun

  • Malaysia

Gua Musang District

Kluang District

  • Myanmar

Shwe U Daung National Park

Alaungdaw Kathapa National Park

  • Thailand

Kui Buri National Park

Salakphra Wildlife Sanctuary

  • Vietnam

Cat Tien National Park