The 179th Party: Angola

The CITES Secretariat is pleased to welcome the Republic of Angola as the 179th Party to CITES.
Angola is situated in Southern Africa bordered by Namibia on the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo on the north, and Zambia on the east; its west coast is on the Atlantic Ocean.
Angola is home to a wide variety of fauna and flora, of which 350 are included in the CITES Appendices, including 63 species of birds of prey, 28 species of primates, over 20 species of dolphins, 57 species of spurges, 52 species of aloes as well as iconic species such as the African elephant, lion, leopard, etc.
The Convention will enter into force for Angola on 31 December 2013.
Map of Angola