CONVENTION ON INTERNATIONAL TRADE IN ENDANGERED SPECIES OF WILD FAUNA AND FLORA



Sixteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties Bangkok (Thailand), 3-14 March 2013

ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE PERMANENT COMMITTEES

- 1. This document has been prepared by the Secretariat.
- 2. The Conference of the Parties has adopted guidelines regarding the procedure to be followed for the selection of regional members and alternate regional members of the Standing Committee and of the Animals and Plants Committees. These are contained in Resolution Conf. 11.1 (Rev. CoP15) (*Establishment of committees*).
- 3. With Notification to the Parties No. 2012/049 of 3 August 2012, the Secretariat asked Parties to submit candidatures for membership of these committees at least 120 days before the meeting, i.e. by 3 November 2012, in compliance with Resolution Conf. 11.1 (Rev. CoP15).
- 4. The Annexes to this document show the lists of current members and alternate members of each committee, the outgoing incumbents and the Parties and persons whose candidatures had been received by the Secretariat by the end of 2012.

STANDING COMMITTEE

Regionally elected committee members and alternate members

Members and alternate members whose term ends at the close of the 16th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in **bold**.

Representatives		Alternates	Candidates					
Africa								
Democratic Republic of the Congo	_	Mali	No candidature received					
Egypt	-	Niger						
Uganda	-	Ethiopia						
Botswana	-	Namibia						
Asia								
Japan	-	Jordan						
Islamic Republic of Iran	_	Pakistan	 Bahrain China Indonesia Philippines 					
Kuwait		Saudi Arabia	shoon					
Dulacric	1	•	Hungon					
United Kingdom	_	Czech Republic	 Hungary Israel (as alternate) Portugal 					
Norway	_	Belgium						
Ukraine	_	Russian Federation						
North America								
United States	-	Mexico						
Oceania								
Australia	-	Fiji						
	Democratic Republic of the Congo Egypt Uganda Botswana Japan Islamic Republic of Iran Kuwait Colombia Costa Rica Dominica Bulgaria United Kingdom Norway Ukraine	Democratic Republic of the Congo - Egypt - Uganda - Botswana - Japan - Islamic Republic of Iran - Kuwait - Colombia - Colombia - Dominica - Bulgaria - United Kingdom - Norway - United States -	Africa Democratic Republic of the Congo Mali Egypt – Mali Egypt – Niger Uganda – Ethiopia Botswana – Namibia Japan – Jordan Islamic Republic of Iran – Pakistan Kuwait – Saudi Arabia Colombia – Peru Costa Rica – Guatemala Dominica – Bahamas United Kingdom – Italy Norway – Belgium Ukraine – Russian Federation United States – Mexico					

ANIMALS COMMITTEE

Members and alternate members whose term ends at the close of the 16th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in **bold**.

Represent	atives		Alternates		Candidates			
Africa								
 Mr Khaled Zah 	zah (Tunisia)		Mr Mustafa Ahmed Mahmoud (Egypt)		No candidature received			
 Mr Samuel Kas 	iki (Kenya)		Mr Moses Maurihungirire (Namibia)		No candidature received			
Asia								
 Mr Suharsono S (Indonesia) 	Soemorumekso ·		Mr Choo-Hoo Giam (Singapore)					
 Mr Mohammac (Islamic Reput 		_	Mr Nobuo Ishii (Japan)	-	Mr Nobuo Ishii (as alternate) (Japan)			
				_	Mr Shaker A. A. Khamdan (Bahrain)			
	Centra	l and	d South America and the Carib	bear	ו			
 Mr Marcel Enzo Agrelo (Urugua) 			Ms Nereyda Margarita Estrada Andino (Honduras)	_	Mr Marcel Enzo Calvar Agrelo (Uruguay)			
 Mr José Albert Lemus (Cuba) 	o Álvarez		Mr Paul Edward Ouboter (Suriname)	_	Mr Guillermo Lingua (Argentina)			
Europe								
 Mr Carlos Iber (Spain) 	o Solana	_	Mr Radu Suciu Romania	_	Mr Simon Nemtzov (Israel)			
 Mr Vincent Flen (United Kingdor 			Mr Mathias Lörtscher (Switzerland)					
			North America					
 Ms Carolina Ca (Canada) 	ceres -		Ms Rosemarie Gnam (United States)		Ms Rosemarie Gnam (as alternate) (United States)			
Oceania								
 Mr Hugh Rober (New Zealand) 	tson -	_	Mr Rod Hay (New Zealand)					
Specialist on zoological nomenclature								
– Ms Ute Grimm	(Germany)			_	Ms Ute Grimm (Germany)			

PLANTS COMMITTEE

Members and alternate members whose term ends at the close of the 16th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in **bold**.

	Representatives		Alternates		Candidates				
Africa									
_	Mr David L. N. Hafashimana (Uganda)	-	Mr Quentin Luke (Kenya)						
-	Ms Beatrice Khayota (Kenya)	Ι	Mr Koffi Akpagana (Togo)						
Asia									
-	Mr Tukirin Partomihardjo (Indonesia)	-	Mr Mohd Yunus Zakaria (Malaysia)	-	Ms Shereefa Al-Salem (Kuwait)				
				-	Mr Edwino S. Fernando (Philippines)				
				-	Mr Shaker A.A. Khamdan (Bahrain)				
				-	Ms Joeni Setijo Rahajoe (Indonesia)				
_	Ms Zhou Zhihua (China)	-	Ms Shereefa Al-Salem (Kuwait)						
Central and South America and the Caribbean									
-	Ms Mariana de Jesús Mites Cadena (Ecuador)	Ι	Ms Adriana Rivera Brusatin (Colombia)	-	Ms Vera Teresinha Rauber Coradin (Brazil)				
-	Ms Dora Ingrid Rivera (Costa Rica)	-	Mr Kenneth Richardson (Bahamas)						
Europe									
-	Ms Margarita Clemente Muñoz (Spain)	Ι	Mr David Kikodze (Georgia)						
-	Mr Maurizio Sajeva (Italy)	Ι	Mr Paulo Carmo (Portugal)	1	Mr Maurizio Sajeva (Italy)				
North America									
_	Mr Hesiquio Benítez Díaz (Mexico)	-	Ms Adrianne Sinclair (Canada)						
	Oceania								
_	Mr Greg Leach (Australia)	_	Mr Marika Vuli Tuiwawa (Fiji)						
Specialist on zoological nomenclature									
	Mr Noel McGough (United Kingdom)			-	Mr Noel McGough (United Kingdom)				