CONVENTION ON INTERNATIONAL TRADE IN ENDANGERED SPECIES OF WILD FAUNA AND FLORA



Fourteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties The Hague (Netherlands), 3-15 June 2007

ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE PERMANENT COMMITTEES

- 1. This document has been prepared by the Secretariat.
- 2. The Conference of the Parties has adopted guidelines regarding the procedure to be followed for the selection of regional members and alternate regional members of the Standing Committee and of the Animals and Plants Committees. These are contained in Resolution Conf. 11.1 (Rev. CoP13).
- 3. With Notification to the Parties No. 2006/071 of 6 December 2006, the Secretariat asked Parties to submit candidatures for membership of these committees at least 120 days before the meeting, i.e. by 3 February 2007, in compliance with Resolution Conf. 11.1 (Rev. CoP13).
- 4. The Annexes to this document show the lists of current members and alternate members of each committee, the outgoing incumbents and the Parties and persons whose candidatures have been put forward for election during the present meeting.

STANDING COMMITTEE

Regionally elected committee members and alternate members

Members and alternate members whose term ends at the close of the 14th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in **bold**.

Representatives	Candidates	Alternates	Candidates		
·	Af	rica			
CameroonGhanaKenyaZambia		GuineaEgyptUgandaBotswana			
Asia					
ChinaJapanMalaysia	 Islamic Republic of Iran Israel Kuwait Saudi Arabia United Arab Emirates 	IndiaUnited Arab EmiratesJordan	– Israel		
	Central and South Ame	erica and the Caribbean			
Chile (Chairman)NicaraguaSaint Vincent and the Grenadines	– Costa Rica	ColombiaCosta RicaDominica			
	Eur	ope			
Czech RepublicGermany	 Bulgaria Portugal United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 	 Bulgaria United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 			
Iceland		Portugal			
North America					
Canada		Mexico			
Oceania					
Australia		– Fiji			

ANIMALS COMMITTEE

Members and alternate members whose term ends at the close of the 14th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in **bold**.

Representatives	Candidates	Alternates	Candidates			
Africa						
 Mr Edson Chidziya (Zimbabwe) Mr Richard Kiome Bagine (Kenya) 	– Mr Khaled Zahzah (Tunisia)	 Mr Mustafa Ahmed Mahmoud (Egypt) Mr Khaled Zahzah (Tunisia) 				
Asia						
 Ms Siti Nuramaliati Prijono (Indonesia) Mr Mohammad Pourkazemi (Islamic Republic of Iran) 	 Mr Nobuo Ishii (Japan) Mr Simon Nemtzov (Israel) Mr Mohammad Pourkazemi (Islamic Republic of Iran) Mr Mohammad Y. Shobraq (Saudi Arabia) 	 Mr Choo-Hoo Giam (Singapore) Mr Nobuo Ishii (Japan) 				
		erica and the Caribbean				
 Mr Mario Roberto Jolon Morales (Guatemala) Mr Peter Vogel (Jamaica) 	Central and South Ame	 Mr Marcel Enzo Calvar Agrelo (Uruguay) Mr Alvaro José Velasco Barbieri (Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela) 				
	Euro	ope ¹				
 Ms Katalin Rodics (Hungary) Mr Thomas Althaus (Chairman) (Switzerland) 	Mr ThomasAlthaus(Switzerland)Mr Carlos IberoSolana(Spain)	Mr Alexander G. Sorokin (Russian Federation) Mr Carlos Ibero Solana (Spain)				
	North A	America				
Mr Rodrigo A. Medellín (Mexico)	Mr Rodrigo A. Medellín (Mexico)	Mr Robert R. Gabel (United States of America)	Mr RobertR. Gabel(United States of America)			
Oceania						
Mr Rod Hay (New Zealand)		– Mr John Aruga (Papua New Guinea)				

The Secretariat draws attention to the recommendation of the Conference of the Parties in Resolution Conf. 11.1 (Rev. CoP13) that "for regions with two members and two alternate members, to guarantee some continuity, the two members should not be changed at the same meeting".

PLANTS COMMITTEE

Members and alternate members whose term ends at the close of the 14th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in **bold**.

Representatives	Candidates	Alternates	Candidates		
Representatives		rica	Carididates		
 Mr David L.N. Hafashimana (Uganda) Ms Beatrice Khayota (Kenya) 	All	Mr Koffi Akpagana (Togo)Mr Quentin Luke (Kenya)			
Asia					
- Ms Irawati (Indonesia)	 Mr Ahmed H. Alfarhan (Saudi Arabia) Dato' Dahlan Bin Taha (Malaysia) Mr Tukirin Partomihardjo (Indonesia) 	- Mr Zul Mukshar Md. Shaari (Malaysia)			
 Mr Wichar Thitiprasert (Thailand) 		– Mr M. Sanjappa (India)			
Central and South America and the Caribbean					
 Ms Fátima Mereles (Paraguay) Ms Dora Ingrid Rivera (Costa Rica) 		 Ms Mariana de Jesús Mites Cadena² (Ecuador) Mr George Proctor³ (Jamaica) 			
Europe					
 Ms Margarita Clemente Muñoz (Chairman) (Spain) Mr Giuseppe Frenguelli (Italy) 	– Mr Maurizio Sajeva (Italy)	 Ms Nika Debeljak Sabec (Slovenia) Mr Jonas Lüthy (Switzerland) 	– Mr Jonas Lüthy (Switzerland)		
North America					
 Mr Robert R. Gabel (United States of America) 		– Ms Adrianne Sinclair (Canada)			
		ania			
Mr Greg Leach (Australia)	– Mr Greg Leach (Australia)	 Mr Osia Gideon (Papua New Guinea) 	– Mr Osia Gideon (Papua New Guinea)		

² Ms Mariana de Jesús Mites Cadena was elected at CoP13 to fill a vacancy and therefore her term should run until CoP15. However the Secretariat draws attention to the recommendation of the Conference of the Parties in Resolution Conf. 11.1 (Rev. CoP13) that "As alternate members are alternates of specified members, they should be elected at the same time as the members".

³ Mr George Proctor informed the Secretariat on 28 March 2007 that he was resigning from his position as alternate member of the Plants Committee.